Skip to main content

Leadership Teams

Meet the leadership at Lipscomb University.

Building on our faith and 133-year history, the leadership team drives the university forward. They guide with vision, strategic thinking and dedication to cultivate a community that inspires change and ensures the success of our students.

Executive Leadership

Candice McQueen headshot
Candice McQueen

Before stepping into her role as Lipscomb's 18th president, Dr. McQueen served as Tennessee commissioner of education under former Gov. Bill Haslam and most recently as CEO of the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching. Before becoming the state’s top education official, McQueen served Lipscomb University as senior vice president and dean of the university’s College of Education.

Lindsay Bales headshot
Lindsay Bales
Chief of Staff

Lindsay Bales serves as chief of staff in the Office of the President. Lindsay comes to Lipscomb from the Tennessee State Museum where she served as special assistant to the executive director. Prior to that appointment, Lindsay was executive assistant to former Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam’s chief of staff from July 2011-January 2019. Lindsay holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology from the University of Tennessee and a Bachelor of Arts degree in public relations management from Belmont University.

Jeff Baughn headshot
Jeffrey Baughn
Senior Vice President of Finance and Technology

Transformational leadership is a hallmark of Jeffrey A. Baughn’s impact on the financial services, communications and utility industries during his more than 30-year career in those fields. In July 2020, Baughn was appointed senior vice president of finance and technology at Lipscomb University, where he leads the business operations, finance and information technology functions.

Kim Chaudoin headshot
Kim Chaudoin
V.P. of Communications and Marketing

Kim Chaudoin, vice president for public relations and communication at Lipscomb, has worked in the field of marketing and public relations for 30 years. She has been a part of the Lipscomb University public relations, marketing and communication teams since 1991, and currently directs the Office of Public Relations and Communication.

Keith Hinkle headshot
Keith Hinkle
Senior Vice President of Advancement

S. Keith Hinkle is the senior vice president of Advancement and leads the fundraising and alumni engagement efforts. He brings 22 years of Christian higher education experience to Lipscomb having served most recently to his appointment as Senior Vice Chancellor and Senior Vice President for Advancement and Public Affairs at Pepperdine University. He works closely with the president and other university stakeholders in engaging friends, parents and alumni in support of Lipscomb. Hinkle graduated from David Lipscomb University in 1990 and Pepperdine School of Law in 1997.

Hope Nordstrom headshot
Hope Nordstrom
Special Counsel to the President for Strategy

Dr. Hope Nordstrom is the special counsel to the president for strategy and leads the Office of Strategic Planning & Continuous Improvement. She is also associate professor of education and mostly recently served as director of the Center for Teaching & Learning. As director, she provided administrative oversight and was directly involved in all center programming in order to bolster faculty teaching and improve student success. Nordstrom has also worked in the College of Professional Studies as the director of curriculum and instruction and previously was the lead faculty for the Technology Integration master’s program in the College of Education.

Matt Paden headshot
Matt Paden
Executive Vice President

Matt Paden, an expert in leadership development, is a speaker, consultant and professor of undergraduate and graduate courses on the topics of organizational leadership, change, culture and development. Paden works with the leaders of human resources, marketing, enrollment management and student life.

Brad Schultz headshot
Brad Schultz
Lipscomb Academy Head of School

As an educator for the last two decades, Brad Schultz, Ed.D., has focused on classroom learning innovation in both primary and secondary education. Now he brings his expertise to Lipscomb Academy to inspire students and faculty to look beyond traditional classroom learning for transformative growth. During his most recent three-year tenure as head of school at Cross Schools in Bluffton, South Carolina, Schultz embraced growth both with enrollment and capital expansion.

Jennifer Shewmaker headshot
Jennifer Shewmaker

Dr. Shewmaker began her career in Fort Worth Independent School District before moving to central Europe where she consulted with the Peace Corps in Warsaw, Poland, and served as director of mental health services at the American Medical Center in Warsaw and was on the psychology staff at the American Clinics International in Budapest, Hungary. Beginning in 2022, Dr. Shewmaker served at Abilene Christian University in several key leadership roles as well as holding a faculty appointment in psychology. Before coming to Lipscomb she held the role of dean of the ACU College of Education and Human Services.

William Turner headshot
William Turner
Special Counsel to the President for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Turner holds a Distinguished Professorship in the College of Leadership and Public Service and is Special Counsel to the President for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. An expert in family, community, and public health, Turner’s extensive and lauded academic career has included tenured professorships at Vanderbilt University, the University of Minnesota and the University of Kentucky. From 2007 to 2009, he worked for then Senator Barack Obama as a Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellow to then Senator, now President, Barack Obama.

David Wilson headshot
David Wilson
General Counsel

David Wilson joined the Lipscomb administration as general counsel in May 2014. Prior to that, Wilson was partner at Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis, L.P., where he practiced from 1998 to 2014, and has expertise in corporate governance, business transactions and securities law among other specialties. He has advised private and public companies as well as nonprofit organizations on corporate governance and compliance issues.

Senior Leadership Team

Brent Culberson headshot
Brent Culberson
Vice President of Government and Community Relations
Jeff Dale headshot
Jeffrey Dale
Chief of Campus Security
Darrell Duncan headshot
Darrell Duncan
Vice President of Finance
Kevin Eidson headshot
Kevin Eidson
Director of Health & Wellness
Brett Hinson headshot
Brett Hinson
Vice President of IT/CIO
Christy Hooper headshot
Christy Hooper
Vice President of Human Resources
Philip Hutcheson headshot
Philip Hutcheson
Director of Athletics
Byron Lewis headshot
Byron Lewis
Vice President of Enrollment Management
Brian Mast headshot
Brian Mast
Vice Provost
Scott Sager headshot
Scott Sager
Vice President of Church Services

Academic Leadership Team

Leonard Allen Headshot
Leonard Allen
Dean of the College of Bible
Lynette Austin headshot
Lynette Austin
Dean, College of Health Sciences
Tom Campbell headshot
Tom Campbell
Dean, College of Pharmacy
Leslie Cowell headshot
Leslie Cowell
Dean, College of Education
Ray Eldridge headshot
Ray Eldridge
Dean of College of Business
David Elrod headshot
David Elrod
Dean, College of Engineering
Mike Fernandez headshot
Mike Fernandez
Dean, College of Entertainment and the Arts
David Holmes headshot
David Holmes
Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Steve Joiner headshot
Steve Joiner
Executive Director ICM and Dean, College of Leadership and Public Service