Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

Decisions, decisions, decisions. That’s what Lipscomb’s Board of Trustees pray over, consider and discuss, and ultimately implement for the best interests of all who are part of our university.

Our team of trusted decisionmakers is led by David Solomon, who graduated from the university in 1981. Solomon has served on the board since 2000 and was elected chair in 2017. Get familiar with the rest of our trustees listed below.

Lipscomb University’s Board of Trustees

Jay Addison Barry, Lebanon, Tenn.
Buddy Bell, Montgomery, Ala.
Robert A. Brackett, Vero Beach, Fla.
Gerald Coggin, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Jerry Cover, Brentwood, Tenn.
Richard G. Cowart, Brentwood, Tenn.
Diane Creel, Fredericksburg, Texas
Sallie Dean, Nashville, Tenn.
Mitch Edgeworth., vice chair; Brentwood, Tenn.
James Griffith, Nashville, Tenn.
Bart Harper, Franklin, Tenn.
Paula Harris, Thompson's Station, Tenn.
Van Henley, Colleyville, Texas

Marty Kittrell, treasurer; Franklin, Tenn.
John Little, Knoxville, Tenn.
Billy Long, Madison, Miss.
L. Randolph Lowry III, ex officio; Nashville, Tenn.
J.W. Pitts Jr., Birmingham, Ala.
David Scobey, Alpharetta, Ga.
Kenneth Shumard, Atlanta, Ga.
Cicely Simpson, Washington, D.C.
Vicki Sensing Smith, secretary; Brentwood, Tenn.
David L. Solomon, chair; Nashville, Tenn.
Neika Stephens, Nashville, Tenn.
Robert E. Wood, Brentwood, Tenn.
Mark H. Yokley, Huntsville, Ala.