Skip to main content

Communication students recognized for excellence by Society of Professional Journalists

Kim Chaudoin  | 

Students operating video cameras

Journalists from Lipscomb University’s School of Communication have once again left their mark in this year’s Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) Region 12 Mark of Excellence Awards as eight students or teams received recognition this spring.  

The Mark of Excellence Awards honors the best in student journalism. Entries are judged at the regional level with winners advancing to national competition this summer. Lipscomb is part of SPJ’s Region 12 which comprises universities Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee. National winners will be recognized at the organization’s MediaFest22 in Washington, D.C. in October. 

Lipscomb students and team that were winners or finalists in this year’s competition, along with the other awardees in each category are:

Feature Photography
Winner: Hannah Cron, Lipscomb University, "Pilgrimage Festival"
Finalist: Adam Sullivan, Mississippi State University, "Portrait of 'Meat,' the tattoo artist"

Food/Restaurant Journalism
Winner: Abby Davis, Lipscomb University, "Composting initiative at university cafeteria

Radio Feature
Winner: Sam Phalen, Lipscomb University, "Nashville Dog Day Festival"
Finalists: Jada Evans, Mississippi State University, "Maroon Volunteer Center"; Sierra Vanderhorst, Louisiana State University, "Gabriel Watkins, congressional intern"

Best Use of Multimedia
Winner: Lumination Network, Lipscomb University, "Dove Awards" 
Finalist: Artie Bennett, Loyola University New Orleans, "Loyno confessions builds community during COVID"

Best All-Around Radio Newscast
Winner: Nick Ingold, Ashlee Allison, Sam Phalen, Kenley Kizer, Lumination Radio / The Bison, Lipscomb University
Finalists: WMSV, Mississippi State University; Rebel Radio, University of Mississippi

Cultural Criticism
Winner: Ver Lumod, Loyola University New Orleans, "Movie reviews"
Finalist: Hannah Cron, Lipscomb University, "Previews and reviews"

Winner: College Voices, Vanderbilt University
Finalists: Kathryn Farris, Lipscomb University, "Mysteries of Music City"; Reveille, Louisiana State University

Best All-Around Television News Magazine
Winner: Hoddy Toddy, University of Mississippi
Finalist: Sports Extra, Lipscomb University

Student sitting at sound board

Mark of Excellence Awards entries are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience. Judges were directed to choose entries they felt were among the best in student journalism. If no entry rose to the level of excellence, no award was given. 

This is the latest recognition for Lipscomb’s School of Communication students. Earlier this year, 12 Lipscomb students were named finalists in the 34th annual Southeast Journalism Conference’s Best of South Awards.  

Lipscomb University’s School of Communication is housed in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. It offers undergraduate degree programs in public relations, journalism and new media, advertising and sports media. It also offers graduate programs in advertising, public relations and health communication.

Learn more about Lipscomb's School of Communication