Skip to main content

N.T. Wright, Jonathan Brandt, David French among keynote speakers at 2024 Christian Scholars’ Conference

Office of Public Relations & Communications | 

Presenter at the 2024 Christian Scholars' Conference.

More than 300 scholars from around the world gathered at the Lanier Theological Library and Learning Center in Houston, Texas, June 5-7 for the 2024 Thomas H. Olbricht Christian Scholars' Conference

Held in partnership with Lipscomb University, this year's conference focused on the theme "Hope Amidst Crises: Challenges, Opportunities and Collaborations." The theme reflects an awareness of global crises while projecting a hopeful vision. This is a conversation on the minds of those in churches, universities and communities. The 2024 CSC provided research and resources to attendees for facing contemporary challenges, but with special emphasis on the central place that collaboration holds in efforts to meet those challenges. 

The conference featured an exciting lineup of distinguished speakers, including:

  • Jonathan Brant, dean for Research and Culture at Wycliffe Hall, University of Oxford
  • David French, New York Times columnist and Distinguished Visiting Professor of Public Policy at Lipscomb University
  • Mark Lanier, founder of the Lanier Law Firm and one of America's top civil trial lawyers
  • Mark Love, professor of theology and ministry and director of the Master of Religious Education in Missional Leadership program at Rochester University
  • Esau McCaulley, author and associate professor of New Testament at Wheaton College
  • Charlie Styles, CEO of the Oxford Centre for Christian Apologetics
  • N.T. Wright, fellow at the University of Oxford and one of the most important New Testament scholars of our day.
CSC chapel session

Throughout the three-day event, participants engaged in a diverse array of paper presentations and panel discussions, fostering a vibrant exchange of ideas and scholarly discourse. The sessions addressed various aspects of the conference theme, examining the myriad challenges and opportunities faced by the global Christian community in times of crisis.

“The 2024 conference exemplified the spirit of collaboration and hope, reinforcing the commitment of Christian scholars to addressing the pressing issues of our time,” said Lipscomb President Candice McQueen. “We eagerly anticipate the continued growth and impact of the Christian Scholars' Conference in the years to come.”

A longstanding tradition of the Christian Scholars' Conference is its rotation among host universities that are members of the advisory board. Looking ahead, we are excited to announce the upcoming host universities for the next four years:

  • Summer 2025: Abilene Christian University
  • Summer 2026: Pepperdine University
  • Summer 2027: Harding University
  • Summer 2028: Lipscomb University
CSC session in big hall

The Thomas H. Olbricht Christian Scholars’ Conference began in 1981 at Abilene Christian University. The Christian Scholars’ Conference is a showcase of collaboration, research and the integration of scholarship and faith that highlights the teaching, learning and research that is central to Christ-centered institutions. The conference has a history of drawing a diverse range of nationally respected authors, artists and scholars as plenary speakers, including John Patrick Shanley, Marilynne Robinson, Jim Wallis, James Elkins, Francis Collins, Fred D. Gray, Miroslav Volf, Tracy K. Smith, Marilynne Robinson, John Seigenthaler, Tobias Wolff and John Polkinghorne among others. Learn more about