Skip to main content

Lennie Acuff named finalist for Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award

Men’s basketball coach has guided the Bisons to an 85-72 record in five seasons.

From Staff Reports | 

Coach Lennie Acuff

Lipscomb head men’s basketball coach Lennie Acuff has been named a finalist in the 2023-24 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award. The Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award honors those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity on and off it as well.

Acuff just completed his fifth and best season at Lipscomb, with the Bisons recording their second straight 20-win season, finishing 20-12 (11-5 in the A-Sun), and reaching the ASUN Tournament quarterfinals. The Bisons finished third before falling to North Alabama in a buzzer-beater in the conference tournament.

“I am humbled to be among the finalist for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award in college basketball," said Acuff. “Coach Prosser was highly respected by everyone in college basketball because of the way he went about his job and how he treated others. It an honor to be mentioned with some of the best coaches in the country.”

Acuff was one of 20 coaches named as a finalist for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award that includes North Carolina’s Hubert Davis, Stetson’s Donnie Jones, Western Kentucky’s Steve Lutz and Duke’s Jon Scheyer, among others.

The recipient of the annual award is determined by a 10-member voting committee, which consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of The 2024 award winners will be announced this week in Phoenix, AZ, site of the men’s Division I Basketball Championship.

Prior to arriving in Nashville, Acuff spent the previous 22 years as the head coach at The University of Alabama in Huntsville where he built the Chargers into a national power with a 437-214 overall record. Acuff is the all-time winningest coach in Gulf South Conference history as well as being at the top of the UAH career wins list. Acuff was honored as the GSC Coach of the Year a league record eight times and the NABC South Region coach of the year four times. He has notched over 600 wins to date in his coaching career.