Skip to main content

Return To Campus Plan

Lipscomb University's comprehensive plan to return to campus.

Learn More

COVID-19 Update

Lipscomb University Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 update and response.

Learn More

Don R. Elliott Distinguished Presidential Lectures

Don R. Elliott

Don R. Elliott, Courtesy of Vanderbilt University

The Don R. Elliott Distinguished Presidential Lecture Series is designed to expose the Lipscomb University campus and the surrounding community to persons of influence in one or more issues of contemporary debate or discussion, with a preference for issues related to economics or political science. An endowment established at Lipscomb by the Don R. Elliott Foundation provides primary funding for the Elliott Distinguished Presidential Lecture. The lecture series is named in memory of Don R. Elliott, a native of Kerr, Arkansas, who was a Professor of Economics and Political Science at Little Rock University, Randolph-Macon College and Vanderbilt University. He founded Don Elliott and Associates, a fundraising consulting firm that directed campaigns for Lipscomb University and a host of other universities, colleges and private schools.

Jonathan Haidt will be on campus from 6-8 p.m. on Oct. 17 as the speaker for the Don R. Elliott Presidential Lectures in the George Shinn Event Center. This free event is open to the public.

Reserve My Seat

Jonathan Haidt, 2019 Distinguished Lecturer

Jonathan Haidt is a social psychologist whose research examines the intuitive foundations of morality. His most recent books are the New York Times bestsellers, "The Righteous Mind: Why Good People are Divided by Politics and Religion" and "The Coddling of the American Mind: How Good Intentions and Bad Ideas Are Setting Up a Generation for Failure." Haidt is applying his research on moral psychology to rethink the way business ethics is studied.

Previous Elliott Distinguished Lecturers

Thomas Friedman

Thomas Friedman, 2018

We were pleased to welcome Thomas Friedman, New York Times foreign affairs columnist and bestselling our speaker for 2018.

Nina Tortenberg

Nina Totenberg, 2017

National Public Radio’s award-winning legal affairs correspondent and U.S. Supreme Court reporter was our distinguished speaker for 2017.

Captain Chesley (Sully) Sullenberger

Captain Chesley (Sully) Sullenberger, 2016

Captain Chesley (Sully) Sullenberger, Miracle on the Hudson pilot, aviation safety expert and accident investigator, author, speaker, columnist, joined us in 2016.

Anders Fogh Rasmussen

Anders Fogh Rasmussen, 2015

The former Secretary General of NATO, Prime Minister of Denmark, Danish Minister of Economic Affairs spoke at our event in 2015.

Alex S. Jones

Alex S. Jones, 2013

Alex S. Jones, Pulitzer Prize recipient and former director of the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, is one of our past speakers.

James Pinkerton speaks

James P. Pinkerton, 2012

Our lecturer for 2012 was James P. Pinkerton, domestic policy adviser for Presidents Ronald Reagan and G.H.W. Bush; columnist and Fox News contributor.

Elaine Kamarck

Dr. Elaine Kamarck, 2010

Dr. Elaine Kamarck, lecturer in public policy at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government and founding director of the Center for Effective Public Management at Brookings Institute, joined us as a distinguished speaker in 2010.