Skip to main content
Matthew Ruiz

Matthew Ruiz 


Professor of Kinesiology
Director of Graduate Studies in Exercise and Nutrition


Matthew Ruiz joined the Lipscomb faculty in 2015 as an associate professor of kinesiology. From 2006-2015 he served as a tenured faculty member, department chair, and 2015 Professor of the Year at Huntington University (Indiana). He earned a B.S. degree in athletic training & exercise science from Lipscomb, an M.S. degree in exercise science & sport studies with a concentration in sport & exercise psychology from Springfield College (Massachusetts), and a Ph.D. in kinesiology with an emphasis in sport & exercise psychology from the University of Minnesota. Ruiz will finish an MBA degree with an emphasis in leadership from Lipscomb in 2018.

Ruiz has conducted applied sport psychology consultation since 2001 with coaches, athletes, parents/family of athletes, sport medicine professionals, sport teams, exercise participants & leaders, and business & academic professionals on topics such as anxiety & arousal management, communication, concentration, confidence, conflict management, decision-making skills, goal setting, imagery, leadership, peak performance & flow, performance enhancement, feedback, positive reinforcement, staleness & burnout, psychology of injury/rehabilitation, motivation, relaxation, stress management, team building & cohesion, and teamwork.

His research interests include the effect of positive emotion on physical activity performance, exercise adherence, and the relationship between Christianity and sport. Ruiz has presented papers at conferences around the country and internationally, recently presenting a paper at the Inaugural Congress on Sport and Christianity at York St. John University in York, UK on the psychotheology of losing.

Ruiz is a member of the APA, Division 47–Sport and Exercise Psychology, Association for Applied Sport Psychology, and the Christian Society of Kinesiology, Leisure & Sport Studies, where he has been a board member since 2011 and served as president from 2015-2017.