Youngblood, Cobb receive top March of Dimes honors

By |

    Print this page Email this page

The Lipscomb University School of Nursing was well represented at the 2012 Middle Tennessee March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Celebration in December.

Beth Youngblood
Beth Youngblood
Anna Cobb
Anna Cobb

Beth Youngblood, executive associate dean and professor of nursing, was named the March of Dimes Women’s Health Nurse of the Year. Senior nursing student Anna Cobb was named the March of Dimes Undergraduate Student Nurse of the Year.

Each year the March of Dimes honors nurses from every specialty area who have provided special service to patients, the community, and the field of nursing
as a whole. The organization also recognizes student nurses who have shown a
special commitment to their studies and their world.

“This is great recognition of personal commitment to helping other people through the honored profession of nursing,” said Roger L. Davis, dean of the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. “We are so proud of the way Dr. Youngblood and Anna represent the nursing profession and the Lipscomb University School of Nursing. It is an honor to have so many Lipscomb students recognized for leadership and professional performance.”

Youngblood was appointed to lead Lipscomb’s School of Nursing, housed in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, in August 2012. She began her career as a nurse in a Nashville obstetrics and gynecology practice as well as for a general practice office. She also worked as a labor and delivery nurse at Maury Regional Hospital in Columbia, Tenn. In addition, Youngblood taught obstetrics at Columbia State Community College for nine years. From 2002 until May 2012, Youngblood was on faculty at Belmont University’s School of Nursing, where she also served as course coordinator for the maternal infant course curriculum committee leadership council.

Youngblood said she is honored by the recognition, but enjoys helping people most.

“Nurses do what nurses do because it’s our job,” said Youngblood. “I’m flattered by this honor. But, it’s just what I do. I’m glad that people recognize the importance of women’s health. The real award is to see the smiles on the faces of your patients.

“I’m very proud of Anna and all of our students who were nominated for the student honor. It reflects not only the quality of their academic skill, but also their compassion and dedication to serving others through this profession.”

In addition to Cobb, four other Lipscomb University School of Nursing student nurses were also nominated for the Undergraduate Student Nurse of the Year honor. They include Katie Borgmann, Kara Godbout, Jacqueline Lackey and Whitney Layland. 

Roletha Pillow, the 2011 March of Dimes Women’s Health Nurse of the Year for her service at Centennial Medical Center, joined the School of Nursing faculty in June.