2013 Graduation




The Lipscomb community marked another milestone this spring as more than 659 graduates were honored for completing coursework in May or August 2013. Of the 659 graduates:

70 pharmacy students were awarded Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degrees,

35 nursing students were awarded Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degrees,

24 kinesiology students were awarded with a Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science or Bachelor of Science in Health and Physical Education degree

7 exercise science and nutrition students were awarded with Master of Science in Exercise and Nutrition Science degrees, and

10 nutrition students were awarded with Bachelor of Science in Dietetics degrees

 “We want you to be humbly proud of what you have accomplished,” President L. Randolph Lowry challenged the graduates who were to a packed Allen Arena. “Think carefully how you use this new resource. You have the potential to make a difference in the world with the knowledge that you now have. And, remember, you will always be a Bison. You are a member of this herd and will forever be welcome on this campus. We pledge to you to continually work to increase the value of your diploma with what we do here.”

During commencement, Jeff Whitehorn, chief executive officer of Nashville’s TriStar Summit Medical Center, was recognized as Lipscomb University’s 2013 Alumnus of the Year.

“Have passion in all you do and live life to the fullest,” said Whitehorn, a 1984 graduate, as he addressed the graduating class. “Remember that attitude is everything. And, be bold in your faith.”

Autumn Marshall, professor of nutrition and chair of the department was recognized with the outstanding teacher award by the student body. In addition, Ruth Henry, professor of kinesiology who has been on faculty since 1991, was awarded the John William Baker Summer Fellowship Award. The Baker award is made possible annually by Alton and Mary Baker in appreciation of the quality education Dr. Baker received while enrolled as an undergraduate student at Lipscomb. The $5,000 award is to be used for research that will contribute to the advancement of academic excellence and is to be awarded to a university teacher manifesting excellence in the classroom.