APha-APS Award




Thirty-three student pharmacists and 2 faculty members attended this year’s American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Annual Meeting and Exposition March 1-4 in Los Angeles, CA.  On the last day of each meeting the Academy of Student Pharmacists (ASP) ends their programing with an awards ceremony.  Awards are presented to chapters for excellence in patient care projects, policy and advocacy, innovative programing, membership, patient counseling, and many other activities. 

This year our chapter was honored by receiving the Division AAA Runner Up Award.  APhA-ASP divides up each of the 130 schools into 3 divisions.  Division A includes schools that have greater than 550 students, Division AA includes schools that have 351-550 students and Division AAA includes schools that have less than 350 students enrolled.  Our school falls into the Division AAA which includes 37 schools from across the country.

This award takes into account all of our chapter activities throughout the 2011-2012 school year.  Activities such as immunization clinics, health fairs, fund raisers, involvement in organizational walks, policy and advocacy activities, membership, organizational structure, involvement in midyear and annual meetings, professionalism activities, social events,  and all of the other various events that we have throughout the year all went into our chapter receiving this award. 

When they announced that the winner of the 2011-2012 Division AAA Runner-Up Award chapter president, Elizabeth Cherry, accepted the award on stage in front of thousands of student pharmacists from around the country.  The chapter received a plaque, which is currently being displayed in the pharmacy museum on the first floor of the Burton building, and a $200 check to use toward our chapter’s activities.