2010 Pharmacy Research Day



Pharmacy Research Day – October 19, 2010
The College of Pharmacy hosted the second annual Pharmacy Research Day on October 19, 2010. Activities were planned and coordinated by the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. LUCOP student pharmacists gathered in Collins Alumni Auditorium along with faculty, undergraduate students and guests to hear keynote speaker Dr. Andrew Coop, Professor and Chair of the Pharmaceutical Sciences Department at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. Dr. Coop presented an interactive seminar on “Medicinal Chemistry at a School of Pharmacy” where he described research studies which directly impacted clinical/therapeutic applications. The seminar was consistent with the purpose of Pharmacy Research Day – to generate interest and exposure to research opportunities in the pharmaceutical sciences.
A poster session immediately followed the seminar where the 2010 Pharmaceutical Sciences Summer Research Program Participants presented their research:
Student pharmacist Jason Boswell (Class of 2012) worked with Dr. Gregg Stanwood in the Department of Pharmacology at Vanderbilt University exploring the effects of the norepinephrine transporter on cortical development.
Dr. Joseph Deweese (LUCOP Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences) worked with student pharmacist Andrew Jacob (Class of 2013) in Dr. Neil Osheroff’s laboratory in the Department of Biochemistry at Vanderbilt University to determine if the quinone metabolite of etoposide behaved as a redox-dependent topoisomerase II poison.
Student pharmacist Jessica Meeks (Class of 2013) worked with Drs. Pratik Pandharipande and Brett English at Vanderbilt University to study the role of drug levels of dexmedetomidine and lorazepam on delirium in mechanically ventilated ICU patients.
Dr. Susan Mercer worked with student pharmacist Andreea Rose (Class of 2013) in the LUCOP Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Lipscomb University on the design and synthesis of small molecule activators of heme sensing in Staphylococcus aureus.
Student pharmacist Rachel Stephens-Crouch (Class of 2012) worked with Dr. Alan Brash at Vanderbilt University in the Department of Pharmacology investigating the metabolism of very long-chain fatty acids by cytochrome P450 4F11 as a potential role in epidermal barrier function.
Student pharmacists Kayleen Daly and Stacy Witham (Class of 2012) presented an overview of the drug development process – an industry perspective – which highlighted insights from their internship experiences at BTG and Cumberland Pharmaceuticals, respectively.
Additionally, LUCOP faculty in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences presented three educational posters highlighting curricular innovation in the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Laboratory. Dr. Joseph Deweese and Dr. Steve Phipps presented “A Multipurpose Basic Science Lab: Protein Quantitation, Data Analysis, and Problem Solving” which introduced student pharmacists to basic laboratory techniques. The laboratory experiment required student pharmacists to generate a standard curve in order to assess the reliability of their data and to determine the concentration of unknown protein samples by performing linear regression. Student pharmacists Ryan Heath, Rhett Hogan, Jonathan Fiorella, and Jameson Bouldin (Class of 2013) presented “Drug Metabolism: CYP2C9 Inhibition Assay” which highlighted an efficient and cost effective laboratory designed by Dr. Scott Akers and Dr. Susan Mercer. This laboratory experiment emphasized key concepts related to the importance of drug metabolism by cytochrome P450s as the basis of clinically relevant drug interactions. Dr. Mercer also presented "Analysis of a Model Receptor and de Novo Drug Design" which utilized key concepts from Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry towards the design of a ligand complementary to the model receptor site. Knowledge and application of organic functional groups, pH, pKa, bonding interactions and solubility was required for successful completion of the experiment. 
This event was made possible through financial support from Aegis Sciences Corporation and the Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy.