Pharmacy students and faculty member inducted into Sigma Xi



In 2010, two student pharmacists and one faculty member from the College of Pharmacy were inducted into the local chapter of the Sigma Xi Honor Society, a global honor society of scientists with 70,000 members worldwide, including over 200 Nobel laureates in its membership.

Student pharmacist Patrick Nickell was accepted as associate member, honoring his research potential. Student pharmacist Li Li and associate professor Scott Akers, chair of pharmaceutical sciences, were inducted as full members, awarded to those with significant research accomplishments, including first authorship of scholarly papers. Both Li and Nickell participated in the Pharmaceutical Sciences Summer Research Program in 2009.
Patrick Nickell, Class of 2012 Li Li, Class of 2012
Scott Akers, Department Chair
Pharmaceutucal Sciences