Bisons crowned 2013-14 A-Sun Academic Champions

By |


MACON, Ga. – The numbers have been crunched and the Lipscomb Bisons are the 2013-14 Atlantic Sun Conference Academic Champions.

softball huddleThe award comes for the department as 78.83 percent of the student-athletes on campus posted a 3.0 grade point average or better.  That school record mark put the Bisons ahead of Mercer (74.80), Florida Gulf Coast (70.51) and the rest of the league.  It is also the highest percentage for the department since joining the league.

"By almost every measure, this past year has been a superlative one for Lipscomb Athletics,” said Lipscomb director of athletics Philip Hutcheson. “But for all of the championships, tournament appearances, coach and player of the year awards and records set, this achievement ranks right at the top of the list.”

Along with having the highest percentage overall, 211 Lipscomb student-athletes were honored for their work in the classroom this year leading the league with the most honorees during the year.  That raises the all-time total to 1,285 conference scholar winners for the Bisons, the most in A-Sun history.

“The A-Sun motto is 'Building Winners for Life' and this award reflects our efforts to do just that,” said Hutcheson. “We've talked a lot about ‘Our Team’ this year and the idea that when any of us succeed, we all share in the honor.

“This is certainly true with this award and all the credit goes to the student-athletes, who put in the work, the coaches, who stress the importance of ‘student’ and ‘athlete’, our Faculty Athletic Rep, Dr. Kent Johnson who works on our behalf throughout the campus, Dr. Lin Garner and Greta Harber, who lead the way in our office, Senior Director Brian Mast and the rest of the Academic Success Center team who support out entire student body and all the other people in our Lipscomb community who worked with us to make this award a reality."

The A-Sun honored 41 student-athletes as Presidential Scholars marking a distinct group that finished their eligibility with a 3.8 GPA or higher.  Three Bisons received the league’s top laurel as A-Sun Female Student Athlete of the Year Tessa Hoefle, Joshua Kolbo and Claire Peterson were honored.

Another 41 A-Sun student-athletes claimed Commissioner Scholar recognition for finishing their careers with a GPA between 3.6 and 3.79.  Lipscomb’s Geoff Musick, Melissa Dowd and Caitlin Dotson each earned Commissioner Scholar honors.