Communication & Journalism Faculty

Faculty & Staff

Allen Griggs

Alan Griggs

Department Chair, Associate Professor
B.A. (University of Georgia), M.A. (Western Kentucky University)

James F. McCollum, Jr.

James F. McCollum, Jr.

B.A. (Lipscomb University), M.S. (University of Tennessee), Ph.D. (University of Alabama)

Aerial Ellis

Instructor of Public Relations

M.S., Mass Communication, Middle Tennessee State University
B.S., Speech Communication and Theatre, Tennessee State University

Sarah Gibson

Sarah Gibson

Associate Professor

BS - Abilene Christian University
MFA - University of North Texas

Paul E. Prill

Paul E. Prill

B.A., M.A. (Western Illinois University), Ph.D. (Indiana University)

Linda P. Schacht

Linda P. Schacht

Associate Professor
B.S. (Lipscomb University), M.A. (Ohio State University)

Jim L. Thomas

Jim L. Thomas

B.A. (Lipscomb University), M.A. (Auburn University), Ed.D. (University of Tennessee)

Executives and Journalists in Residence

In addition to a communication and journalism faculty known for its work in conflict management, leadership, corporate and government communications, video and radio production, and journalism, several outstanding practitioners bring a depth of experience to the classroom each year.