National Merit 2012




Seven Lipscomb Academy students have recently been named among the top in the nation by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation based on outstanding performances on the Preliminary SAT. These scholastically talented members of the class of 2013 are Rachel Ackerman, Han Na Kim, Chandler Montgomery, Dillon Dunn, Savannah Harrelson, Thomas Howell and Jessica Ragsdale.  


“What an honor it is for our school to have 7 students achieve this distinction.  This is another reflection of the commitment to excellence made by the Lipscomb Academy community,” said Lipscomb Academy High School Principal, Lanny Witt.


Ackerman, Kim and Montgomery have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. These academically talented students have an opportunity to continue in the competition for scholarships that will be offered in the spring of 2013.


Nearly 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of programs entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.


To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.


Dillon Dunn has been designated a semifinalist in the 49th annual National Achievement Scholarship Program. About 80 percent of semifinalists are expected to attain finalists standing, and more than half of the finalists will win an Achievement Scholarship award.


More than 160,000 Black American high school juniors from all parts of the United States requested consideration in the 2013 National Achievement Scholarship Program when they took the 2011 PSAT/NMSQT.


Savannah Harrelson, Thomas Howell, and Jessica Ragsdale have been named Commended Students in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program. Letters of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, were presented to these academically talented students.


About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2013 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2013 competition by taking the 2011 PSAT/NMSQT.


“Recognizing academically talented students plays a fundamental role in the advancement of educational excellence within our nation,” commented an NMSC spokesperson. “The young people recognized as Commended Students represent some of the best and brightest minds in the country as demonstrated by their outstanding performance in our highly competitive program. We sincerely hope this recognition will provide them with additional educational outlets and motivate them in their pursuit of academic achievement.”