Lipscomb Academy Athlete and Coach Honored at Tennessean Sports Awards

By |


On Sunday, June 3, the Tennessean held its third annual Tennessean Sports Awards recognizing Lipscomb Academy Class of 2018 graduate Sean Hagan as Hockey Player of the Year and Coach Ernie Smith as the 2018 Fred Russell Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

Launched in 2016, the Tennessean Sports Awards recognizes nearly 40 athletes, coaches and teams for team accomplishments and individual successes both on and off the field. 

Hagan, a GNASH All-Star Game starter and captain of the Lipscomb Academy-Brentwood Academy Co-op Hockey team, was recognized as Hockey Player of the Year after finishing his senior season with 46 total points, tallying 19 goals and 27 assists. Hagan now plans to play Junior A hockey in the US or Canada before focusing on Division I NCAA collegiate hockey.

Smith, who just completed his 40th season coaching Mustang baseball, received the Fred Russell Lifetime Achievement Award after leading Lipscomb Academy to a combined 1,859 wins and eight state championships combined in baseball and girls basketball. Smith has led the baseball program to 951 wins and seven state championships. As coach of Lady Mustangs basketball from 1980 to 2016, Smith amassed 908 career victories and won a state championship to cap the 1985-1986 season. 

To read more about the Tennessean Sports Awards and see a list of all honorees, please click here. You can also watch a video of the event here. Hagan is recognized at the 17:38 second mark and Smith at 1:21:45 seconds.