Nashville High School Musical Theatre Awards

Nashville Musical Theatre Awards has been a huge success for the past two years. Last year, we had 18 schools, totaling 400 students, participate in this exciting program dedicated to honoring the talents, friendships and educational endeavors of Nashville high school theatre programs. We expect even more school participation this year, so make sure you sign up today!

Through this program, area high schools are invited to submit one musical per school year. We then send three adjudicators to view a performance, including a Nashville theatre professional, a Lipscomb University faculty member and a student from the theatre department. On Saturday, May 14, all participating schools are invited to Lipscomb’s campus for a day of workshops taught by industry professionals and an awards ceremony hosted by a special guest. Past hosts have included Broadway actor, Chuck Wagner and American Idol performer, Melinda Doolittle.

We seek to recognize exemplary work of all participating schools. Awards include best actor and actress, best show, best direction, all-star cast and crew and many other exciting awards. Lipscomb University Theatre will also be presenting two $1,000 scholarships, one in acting and one in technical theatre, to study theatre at Lipscomb. 


To enter, please complete the online form and payment. This is the preferred registration, but if you wish to send a check for registration, please contact Kari Smith for information on sending the check to the university. Once we receive your completed registration, we will coordinate a team of adjudicators to view one of your performances. They will each have a basic rubric that will be the basis for critique of the show. Their completed rubric will be sent to you after the performance. If you would like an oral critique after the performance, you may ask for one. At the end of the school year, we will compile the critiques and scores from each show to determine the awards for the festival. While we do not encourage a spirit of competition, we do want to recognize performers and productions for outstanding work.

As we get closer to the May 14 event, schools will be asked to register each student who plans to attend the day of workshops and the evening awards ceremony. We will send each teacher more information on registration and the specific details of the awards day as the event approaches. 

Enter Now


The cost per school is $250 with a maximum of 20 schools and a total of 400 students participating. The fees are applied toward the full day of workshops, judges’ costs and awards reception after the ceremony. Parents will also be able to buy tickets to the awards ceremony in May. Registration fee may not be returned if production is cancelled within 14 days of first performance. 

A Sample Itinerary

Saturday, May 14, 2015

  • 9-11 a.m. Workshops
  • 11 a.m-12 p.m. Lunch
  • 12-3 p.m. Workshops
  • 3-6 p.m. Dinner (on own)
  • 6:30-8:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony
  • 9-10 p.m. Dessert Reception

Deadline to register is March 1, 2016. Last possible show date for adjudication is April 30, 2016. 


Register online and join us for a musical day of fun, learning and awards. 

For information, contact Kari Smith at or 615.966.7111. Once we receive your information and registration, we will send you detailed information about our visit to your school as well as how to register each of your students for the May 14 event. 
We look forward to your participation! 

2014-2015 High Schools Participating (no particular order)

  • Brentwood High School
  • Father Ryan High School
  • Cookeville High School
  • Franklin Road Academy
  • Davidson Academy
  • Central Magnet High School
  • Siegel High School
  • St Cecilia's Academy
  • Montgomery Bell Academy
  • Harpeth Hall
  • Ensworth School
  • Pope John Paul II High School
  • Wilson Central High School
  • Ravenwood High School
  • Lipscomb Academy
  • Centennial High School
  • Christ Presbyterian Academy
  • Hillsboro High School