National Merit Semifinalists 2012

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation have announced the names of the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Among those students are three of Lipscomb Academy’s seniors, Chandler Montgomery, Rachel Ackerman and Han Na Kim.


These academically talented students have an opportunity to continue in the competition for scholarships that will be offered in the spring of 2013.


Nearly 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of programs entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.


To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.


Lipscomb Academy congratulates these students and their families on this prestigious honor!